Basic recording gear (mostly microphone) recommendations?

Jankowske

So...I've got four toms that I'd like to close-mic, a snare where two mics would be preferable, a kick, and two overheads would be nice. Not too worried about my hats since I spank 'em loud, and room mic is a maybe. Also I'm cheap.

New computer will hopefully be procured in the next 24 hours. A good friend is giving me a good deal, so I don't need help picking that out.

Apparently the Tascam US-1800 that I've been ogling for too many years can be had at Sweetwater for $200. Did a bit of research on it and it sounds like it's a nice clean, quiet unit. Also the 2-year warranty and Cubase LE5 sound neat. I'm open to suggestions here, as long as said suggestions are 12+ tracks and sub-$200. Simultaneous multitracking is what I'm after, so ye-olde-analog-board won't suffice.

Mics I need help with. I have an SM57, an MXL 990, some old audiotechnica PRO 5 dynamic, a subkick speaker-mic that I made, a couple shure VP64s, and then a half-dozen odd cheap/karaoke/toy mics. My current scheme revolves around getting some cheap drum mic pack and replacing as needed with time.

For example: CAD has a decently-reviewed 7-piece for $200. Consensus trends towards overheads being really nice, the four dynamics being decent to good, and the kick being mediocre but serviceable (good for floor tom, though). So...the 57 on top of the snare, maybe my AT on bottom, the four dynamics on my toms, and the kick and the overheads where they belong. Later on, get a beta 52 for my kick, put the CAD kick on the floor tom, replace dirty old AT with the spare dynamic, and voila! a very workable setup. Maybe a little room flavor from my MXL. Do I seem to be on the right track?