BAD PRACTICE HABITS...

i have a bad habit where i practice consistently daily for 2 months and then stop for about the same amount of time, feeling burnt out and lacking motivation to go on...at present im in a rest period...any words, thoughts or ideas appreciated...

nocTurnal

i have a bad habit where i practice consistently daily for 2 months and then stop for about the same amount of time, feeling burnt out and lacking motivation to go on...at present im in a rest period...any words, thoughts or ideas appreciated...
That has happened to me over the past six years since I started playing. It's a real bummer, isn't it? I found that nothing kept me more movitated to play than when I had a teacher. Which drum book(s) are you working through? Tommy Igoe's 'Groove Essentials' (See threads down below) is really helping me stay focused. Do you find yourself procrastinating with other aspects of your life? If so, some self-help books related to procrastination might help. 'Eat That Frog!' by Brian Tracy would be a good introduction. Self-help books have helped me somewhat with my goals and procrastination. But you have to constantly reinforce your brain with the information, otherwise you forget it.

Last edited:

Thaard

Platinum Member
My only problemt is the lack of discipline. Sometimes I can practice singles for a good 20 minutes or so. Other times I just fall out and start playing beats instead. Really irritating, but I gotta stick with it and force my way back.

RhythmDrums

Yea I have that too, alot of time I get behind my drumkit with the intension to play and practice some fills, rudiments or grooves and then after a short while I get bored of it and just start playing covers.