Bad habit development.

intheruff

Hi guys... I've been playing on and off for around 40 years (yipes). I just got out of the studio and discovered I've been dropping the beat slightly after a fill, or just after discovering I'd rushed the beat and had to correct the downbeat in order to play with the click track. VERY DISCOURAGING!
I regularly practice with a click track and a digital screen that shows whether I'm on the beat, or wherever. I don't seem to have a problem with practice. But, with the band I do... and, I don't believe it's their fault, generally speaking.
Any thoughts on this dilemma would be appreciated and acted on. I'll be on the road for the next few weeks and out of touch with this site, but will monitor until Thursday and respond when I get back. I've got no 'smart' phone to keep posted. TIA...

alparrott

Platinum Member
Record your performances. Video or audio, either works. That way, the culprit will be very evident. Then you (as a band) can address it.

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
Rushing fills is very common (Bonham was extremely guilty of this!)

Practicing with a metronome helps identify which kinds of fills are most problematic, and in what way. For example, triplet fills are notorious for being rushed, whether in straight time or shuffles or 6/8. Practice with a click or loop will help you learn to correct them, usually it means being very deliberate with the fill until you land on the 1 again. The feeling of sitting on the tempo soon becomes natural, and you automatically do it when playing, with or without a click.

Bermuda

Wave Deckel

Gold Member
Bonham was extremely guilty of this!
I guess you managed to make 90% of all drummers (pro and/or hobby) on this forum feel instantly better now. :-D

For some people, it works quite well, to use the left leg as a "metronome" (moving it up and down, like heel-up bassdrum-playing) while doing fills, during moments where you cannot use a real metronome.