Are you the type of player who...

Larry

"Uncle Larry"
...likes to use one snare and cymbal set for all your live gigs or do you like to rotate your gear?

I have an "A" list set of cymbals that I use for all my gigs.

I played the same snare for 7 years, a Pearl Eric Singer signature snare.

That was before one Andy Crosby came into my life.

Right now I am rotating through my Guru snares but I keep the same cymbals.

But basically, when I get something I like, I stick with it. This is the first time I have been rotating any gear since my return to music in 2003. I think it stems from a desire to have a mostly non-changing, signature set of sounds...

How about you?

I would be shocked if Paradiddle Pete used only one of his outrageously gorgeous sets for live stuff.

I rotate snares regularly, usually it's a Supra, Copperphonic, or early COB (not technically a Supra.) I've added my new 8" Copperphonic and Black Beauty to that list. :) I also bring different kits as needed for the gig at hand, sometimes determined by the band, sometimes by the venue once I learn what works best there.

But for all of the cymbals I have, I use the same 7 or 8 Sabians for almost all of my local gigs.

Bermuda

I have a "blues" set up and a "jazz" set up. I will occasionally switch out a snare or add a cymbal to either configuration, but for the most part it stays the same.

I have a cymbal setup that I use with my 12/14/18 for bebop and a different setup I use with my 13/16/22 for rock. Need at least one cymbal with rivets if I'm going to be playing brushes and my lower-volume cymbals don't sound quite right to me with amplified music.

I do switch snares, but only for convenience. I would be fine playing only my 6.5" snare with both, but I like having different head and tuning combinations for each type of gig, so I keep a 5" for the jazz setup just because it's faster to grab a different drum than re-head and re-tune each time.