Are my Tom Arrangement and Cocktail Floor Tom Bass Odd?

Japan Drummer

Hello Folks,

Greetings. Love this forum. I'm a pretty new drummer, but from the beginning have liked the idea of an 18 inch cocktail drum. The cymbals are still a work in progress, but wondering if there are any problems with the toms arrangement. I have 10, 11 (vintage) - 12 and 13 inch toms, 6 and 8 are just out of vision, but I think I'll find some way to deal with those after all else is set.

Thinking I should maybe stagger them instead of lining them in a circle, but not sure. As it stands now, the 16 inch floor tom (center, no pedal - yet!) is at a pretty steep angle and the other toms are angled inward, too. Trying to keep them a little low to spare my shoulders in the future (I'm already 51, so trying to be realistic about that). I don't want to be reaching up and would like to have everything in as close as possible so that I don't have to reach out much either.

Many Thanks in Advance,

Dave in Northern Japan

Attachments

BacteriumFendYoke

Platinum Member
It is unusual, yes. If it's working for you then I suggest you keep it but when you add a bass drum into the set it could complicate your positioning somewhat.

Japan Drummer

Thanks! Actually, I had a big bass drum and it was limiting my tom height and spacing. Plus, I liked the idea of a smaller bass tuned down. I feel I need some improvement on reach, I guess, which is why I'm thinking about staggering the toms.

While I have you. I DO experience some volume problems with the bass. Would a large bass drum vent help and do you know if it would cause problems. I'm guess in there would be at least a two inch hole. I could put a bass drum head with a hole on top, but I think that would change the sound of the top too much.

Thanks Again,

Dave

It is unusual, yes. If it's working for you then I suggest you keep it but when you add a bass drum into the set it could complicate your positioning somewhat.

BacteriumFendYoke