Anyone Switch From Heal Up To Heal Down?

ricky

This forum looks different than it used to! (i don't like it)...

anyway...

I should start by saying drums are not my main instrument and I've never had lessons...

but for the longest time I played heal up because it seemed easier and more powerful, and playing heal down seemed weak. Heal up, I could do non-syncopated stuff fine, but I could never really develop a good way of doing any sort of syncopation heal up...my foot would move around, my knee started hurting...

so one day, for the sake of my knee, I started playing heal down...had more control for syncopation, but had to develop the muscles...and now I generally play heal down.

Just wondering if anyone can relate to that.

AzHeat

Platinum Member
I switched several years ago when I had to learn to play quietly. Took some time to build the right muscles, but I switch between the two today and never really think about it. Came in pretty hand when I switched to a non ported head on the reso too. Nice to be able to manipulate the pedal to give you a thump and boom depending on technique. Takes some getting used to, that’s for sure!

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
I can relate. I'm a heel down snob. But whatever works. I can't bury the beater, it doesn't work for me. I MUCH prefer the rebounded as opposed to the buried tone so that works out. I use heel up when the muscular demands are too much for heel down, which in my world, doesn't happen a lot.

I'm doing heel down hi hat. That's a challenge because I need a "buried" motion for a nice "chick" and a rebounded motion for a nice hi hat splash tone. I don't flail my arms around a lot. I like the look of as little arm and leg movement as possible from the drummer paired with a great big drum sound. I like looking in total control and I like looking like I have plenty of headroom and that I'm not playing on the edge of my abilities.

Last edited:

ricky