Anyone ever worked with a bad drum teacher?

JDFaulky

I just had a bad experience with a drum teacher and thought I would vent a little and get opinions from others.

I'm a self taught drummer who decided 5 months ago that I would try working with a drum teacher in order to help me progress quicker and correct any bad habits I may have formed by self teaching. I've been taking drumming very seriously and thought a drum teacher could be very valuable to me. I had a few teachers in the area to choose from and I picked one basically via "eeny meeny miny moe" and didn't really know the strengths and weaknesses of the choices I had. The one I picked ended up being a bad experience and I'm worried how this will affect my progress.

I picked one and worked with the guy for 5 months and felt like I haven't really learned anything from him. He was a cool guy but I didn't find his teaching style very useful.

• He was very chatty to the point where I was listening to him talk more than I was actually playing anything.
  • His kit was janky and difficult to play. Looks like the heads haven't been changed in decades. His drums were acoustic but his cymbals were e-kit cymbals hooked to a PA system. Lots of duct tape and broken triggers hanging off of the toms.
  • He used very outdated technology (like spending 10min of my 30min session fast forwarding through VHS tapes with bad audio).
  • He would write down a lot of chicken scratch note charts on paper by hand that I could barely decipher.
  • He wouldn't give me any exercises or routines to work on that would help me work on my hands or technique.
  • I would tell him what my weaknesses are and he never seemed interested in wanting to help me work on those weaknesses, and instead continued down his "one size fits all" curriculum and refused to really deviate from it.