Anyone buy a referb/renew PC tower?

felonious69

For absolute beginner recording, all I really need is a tower.
I was looking at laptops, but figured a tower would be more upgradeable(?)
I have a VGA monitor, and the accessories are a dime a dozen. (Mouse, Keyboard...)
I was researching and discovered SFF (Small Form Factor, I found out). Never knew about this until now.
How "expandable" are these SFFs? Where's a good place to look? We have Best Buy and Office Max/Depot. I won't shop at Staples.
There are some Dells and HPs I saw but,...
Totally not IT minded at all and I just wanna record some Bass guitar, throw in some rhythm and lead...work in drums from there. Don't have drum mics yet.
I do have the PreSonus Studio 68c as a starter and JBL 305P MKii powered monitor pair but I don't wanna get stuck with a PC I can't upgrade at least a little if necessary.

One I saw was:
$256.00
Dell OptiPlex 9020-SFF,
Intel Core i5-4570 3.2GHZ,
16GB RAM,
512GB SSD
Solid State,
DVDRW,
Windows 10 Pro 64bit (Renewed)
(4) USB 3.0, (6) USB 2.0
RJ-45, Serial Port, VGA, (2) Display Port, (2) PS/2 (Are the display ports HDMI shaped things?)
Keyboard and Mouse Included
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit – Multi-language supports English/Spanish/French.

I know there are external HDs, but is there such a thing as external RAM and good (USB maybe) WiFi? It has an ethernet port but I would prefer wireless.

Just for starters this is what I have found so far.
I won't be recording albums...at least not for quite some time.

As always, the help and advise available here are AWESOME! And very much appreciated.
Thanks for EVERYTHING,
Bob

Old PIT Guy