another remix, another question about copyrights

kacperivo

Pioneer Member
hey people! now besides being interested in your opinions about this tune i remixed lately, i also hope that someone could tell me if using such old samples (not sure but probably recorded somewhere between the 40's and 50's) is copyright infringement? if yes, who should i contact to settle this?
i won't put it anywhere on myspace till i'm sure i'm not breaking the law this time ;).

any comments would be really appreciated :)

thanks!

http://media.putfile.com/Bei-Mir-Bistu-Shein

scrowder

Hi kacperivo,

First of all--as a disclaimer, I am a student, not a lawyer. I can give you facts, but if you want legitimate legal advice, ask a lawyer, not me. :)

The short answer to your question: It depends on the recording. It's especially confusing for older recordings because there have been many changes over time in copyright law. It is possible that the copyrights have expired, but it is more likely that they have been renewed. If this is the case, it is going to be a difficult process to obtain the proper licenses.

The long answer: (These are U.S. copyright laws, which affect only works with registered copyrights in America. However, most countries honor eachother's copyright laws when those works are used in another country.)

Current U.S. copyright law states that a copyright is valid for the life of the author plus an additional 70 years. This law was established in 1978. Before 1978, copyrights lasted for 28 years, but in 28th year, authors had the option to renew the copyright for a second (and final) term of 28 years, or let it expire. Another law was created in 1976 that changed the length of the second term to 67 years -- works created before 1950 and renewed before 1978 were automatically given an extension (changing the term from 28 years to 67). If a copyright was made between 1950 and 1963, and not renewed, then the copyright has expired.