After decades, I'm letting go of the 5x14 size

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
As stated, ever since I started playing, I've always had a 5x14 snare. In fact, when I had other snares, the 5x14 was always considered my mainstay and any really important work would mean I'm bringing the 5x14 snare out.

Well, today I got brave and actually SOLD my 5x14 Tama Stewart Copeland snare, and totally took the 5x14 option off of my snare sound palette. It was a hard decision but I think a sound one.

Ever since I got into the 6.5x13 snares and even a 6.5x14 cheap-o Rockstar snare, I'm totally digging the deeper snares, and the 5x14 Copeland would stay home unused. There's a throatiness to the size that I never got with a 5x14 (although I'm the first to say you should be able to tune it to whatever you need to). So I let the Copeland snare go and will actually live the deeper depth snare size for a while. I just thought I'd mention this having played 5x14 snares for the last 40 years.....

It might be hard to find a matching deep snare when I search for a vintage Slingerland kit, but that day isn't coming anytime soon ;)

zarrdoss

Gold Member
Congratulations on going deep, lol. I have a few shallower snares but 6.5 is as shallow as I generally like them. just something lacking to me on the shallow snares, well to me anyway. Its probably time for me to thin the heard as well.

Anon La Ply

Renegade
I used a deeper (Dynasonic) snare in the 80s but reverted to my old 5 x 14 vintage Drouyn. It's just sentimental - there are no doubt better sounding drums out there and many of them are deeper.

Many years ago I stumbled into another band's rehearsal space and there was this weird snare drum with clear heads and no shell. The heads were set far apart, more than 6" but can't exactly remember. It was well tuned and sounded like a cannon.

Midnite Zephyr

Platinum Member