Advice on speeding up

JakeyD

Hi all,

I've been drumming for ages now -- 20 years or so -- but I'm entirely self-taught. One of the side effects is that practicing with a metronome was something I never knew was important. The result of this is that despite being pretty advanced in other ways, I have a very basic but serious problem where I tend to speed up throughout a song.

I'm planning on starting gigging again pretty seriously before long, but i have to get this problem under control. Aside from practicing playing grooves, fills, and whatnot at various tempos to a metronome, do you have any other advice? Even when I stick a metronome on now, slower tempos really give me problems -- I end up speeding up, then backing off to recapture the tempo, only to overcompensate and fall behind... it can take me as long as a minute to really settle into the groove.

Perhaps a cattle prod rigged to zap me whenever I speed up? ;)

Thanks for your thoughts and advice.

thedrumninja

Hey JakeyD,

Your pretty much doing the right thing by practicing along with the metronome especially at slower tempos.

You just need to breathe, relax and feel the subdivisions of whatever tune you are playing - maybe sing them to yourself as well. That can often help.

Also, try not to anticipate the fill. If you are thinking 'aah, here it comes' then you're gonna rush it. Don't think too much about it and just let it flow.

The more time you spend playing along with slow tracks and a slow metronome click the better you'll get -- a little bit of patience in your practice will go a long way.

If none of this works then definitely go with the cattle prod! ;)

Good luck and let us know how you get on.

Drum-Head

Silver Member
Practice slowly and count out loud ("1 & 2 & 3 & 4 &" etc) while practicing your grooves and fills with the metronome. This will not only help you feel better where everything falls into place but will allow your brain to integrate things in a more efficient way.