Accurate cover of YYZ (Rush)

SbrickwallS

Don't know the original? Holy cow that's blasphomy! hehe

dtrushr30dw you did a great job covering that tune man. Job very well done.

8Mile

Platinum Member
Excellent job of nailing the parts exactly! If there's anything you played different than the original, even the sticking, I couldn't detect it.

And that's saying something. Because I studied the heck out of that tune about 30 years ago, so I'd have a pretty good idea. What I noticed most of all is how well you nailed the left hand part. Lots of people don't realize that Neil played all sorts of grace notes and some diddles with the left hand on that tune (and some others), but you got it exactly right, as far as I can tell. I always tried to "get inside the head" of drummers when learnig their stuff, just to have an idea of not only what they played, but how. I think you've managed that here just great.

Nicely done!

dtrushr30dw

Excellent job of nailing the parts exactly! If there's anything you played different than the original, even the sticking, I couldn't detect it.

And that's saying something. Because I studied the heck out of that tune about 30 years ago, so I'd have a pretty good idea. What I noticed most of all is how well you nailed the left hand part. Lots of people don't realize that Neil played all sorts of grace notes and some diddles with the left hand on that tune (and some others), but you got it exactly right, as far as I can tell. I always tried to "get inside the head" of drummers when learnig their stuff, just to have an idea of not only what they played, but how. I think you've managed that here just great.

Nicely done!