A vs A Custom?

HeavyDrums

I have a choice between A Mastersounds or A Custom Mastersounds. Sonically, what's the difference? My other cymbals are K Customs and I'm looking for some hats that will mesh well with them.

A Mastersounds is your standard medium top/heavy bottom (which is what I prefer) while the A Custom is medium thin top/medium bottom. I didn't like the A Customs as much because they feel rather thin to me, especially with heavier sticks. They also sound a little tinny in some situations. I personally would choose the A but I recommend trying both before buying.

HeavyDrums

Thank you. I preferred the As, but I couldn't articulate why. I play with heavy sticks and the As just felt better.

Peedy

I have a choice between A Mastersounds or A Custom Mastersounds. Sonically, what's the difference? My other cymbals are K Customs and I'm looking for some hats that will mesh well with them.
I’m confused about one thing with your post. What do you mean when you say “I have a choice between”? Are you getting a pair for free? If you’re buying them then you have lots of choices that might fit in better with either your music preferences or your Ks.

Pete

HeavyDrums

I’m confused about one thing with your post. What do you mean when you say “I have a choice between”? Are you getting a pair for free?
They are both available used at my local music-go-round. There isn't much price difference. That's what I meant by having a choice. I'm limited to buying used at the moment.

Peedy

Fair enough. Don't own a single cymbal purchased new myself.

Used retail for those HHs would be about 150-200 or so USD. I'm guessing that would get you something a bit closer to your Ks on eBay or similar. I played the Customs for 2-3 months and the A Mastersounds just once and if it were me, I would be sorry I got either one of those for my Ks. Both of those HH sets are louder and more high pitched (brighter) than the Ks.

What part of the world are you in?

Pete