A question for Dave Weckl..

moxman

Silver Member
Saw Dave the other night on his drum clinic tour.. got to ask him a question and chatted a bit after the show. But now I'm kicking myself , as I thought of a much better question to ask him! So.. I'll throw it out here and see what you drumheads think..

Note: I'm a converted trad-to-matched grip player, fully on board with what Dave preaches about the middle finger fulcrum, playing relaxed, using the rebound, wrapping the hand loosely around the stick with the pointer finger gap (open) at the front end and playing from the back of the hand/fingers. I've been playing this way for about the last 12+ years and love it - but there's one thing that has always puzzled me - which is; (drum roll please.......)

So.. Question:
If you are playing a crescendo buzz roll over a bar of 4 beats for example.. going from a whisper to a scream, do you shift your hand pressure to the first finger (for the fine buzz roll) and by the time you reach a loud buzz roll (where the stick heights are at neck height) shift the hand pressure to the back of the hand?
Or do you use the same weighting throughout?

My problem is that I learned to play a super smooth buzz roll 40 years ago using the first finger-light pressure-circular technique.. and trying to do that from the middle finger fulcrum always just feels weird to me.. I can do it but ... It's similar to the feeling you get doing a buzz roll with the pinky fulcrum .. kind of unbalanced.. What do you think?

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
Dunno about Weckl, but my fulcrum point certainly changes according to what I need to do. It's forever shifting between fore finger and middle finger......as does the amount of pressure I apply too. From pinching it quite tightly between the tip of my forefinger and thumb, to loosely rolling across the middle finger......and just about everywhere in between.