A plethora of questions about form

sbsdrums

Hello everybody on drummerworld forums! i have been coming here for a few months now to get tips on drumming and have searched various threads to help me with my playing. However, i have not found any threads that specifically deal with my problems and so have decided to become a member and post them.

Alright, first off i have been playing drums for a little over a year now and have just begun learning rudiments. I want to improve my speed and overall musicianship but i have a few questions. First, should i continue to play french grip or switch over to matched now that i am starting rudiments? Second, no matter how much i try, my hands are never perfectly "matched" because my pinky on my left hand digs into my ring finger more than my right (is this rare?). Do my fingers have to be exactly matched to produce an even sound?

I have purchased "stick control for the snare drummer" and "Tommy Igoe's great hands for a lifetime dvd" (after being advised to by a local drum teacher) and really want to dive in but i don't want to practice bad form and learn bad habits. Regrettably, i cannot afford a teacher right now and am wondering if i should try and work on my form without one. Will it do more harm than good?

Lastly, how important is posture? Should i play with my back straight always or do what is comfortable?

Any advice (especially related to the form/pinky debacle) would be greatly appreciated as i love drums and want to improve as a drummer. Thanks to everyone in advance!

Fiery

Silver Member
First off, you cannot switch from French grip to matched grip. French grip refers to either the right hand grip if you're playing traditional, or both hands if you're playing matched.
Second, no matter how you try, your hands will never ever be exactly the same. Just work on keeping them both even in sound and feel.