A Drummer's Most Important Quality

C.M. Jones

What's a drummer's most important quality? Aside from the ability to drum, which is native to the state of being a drummer, I believe confidence to be the requisite trait every drummer must possess. While all musicians must be confident to an extent, a drummer's self-assurance is of singular significance. We're expected to display a contained yet transparent cockiness, a subtle swagger that communicates to our fellow musicians, "There's nothing to worry about here. Leave the metronome to me, and we'll be just fine." A drummer can't waver in mentality or execution. Every stroke must be decisive and meaningful. All hesitation is potentially deadly. If a drummer doesn't carry out his or her duties with composite conviction, everything else gets wishy-washy. The music takes a lethal dive.

What do you consider a drummer's most important quality?

johnwesley

Silver Member
Drummers should make it look fun not like work. I always say watch Krupa and Moon, They both smile and are playful in their approach. Makes it fun to watch them. Also Steve Moore (the mad drummer). He's way over the top. Keeps the beat perfect, but does stuff while playing that has nothing to do with anything but having fun and making fun of "what NOT to do" when playing drums. Don't get me wrong, there are a lot of phenomenal drummers that can out stick any of us like Buddy Rich. But they (Buddy especially) are so into technique that it looks like work or at least exercising at the local gym. Smile, improvise, do the unexpected and entertain the crowd is my motto.

Last edited:

MntnMan62