A custom cymbals?

stabmasterarson

I'm new to the whole buying cymbals thing, and I have just kind of bought cymbals willy nilly, no real method to what I'm doing. So I have sabian (APX, AA,), zildjian (a, z custom, a custom), paiste (pst5), meinl (hcs)cymbals on my kit right now.

I picked up a used 19"A custom medium crash on a whim and I love this cymbal. At first I thought it rang out too long, until I recorded with it, it has a big loud sound and is great for riding on.

I had previously bought a couple of zildjian A fast crashes which are starting to crack now after 8 months of playing on them, so I'm looking for suggestions from you more knowledgeable guys. My sabians are allright...my hats, a 10 and 12 inch splash are sabian....but I like the sound of this A custom a lot, plus they seem fairly thick so they won't break like my A's are doing on me.

I play metal, bordering on death metal if that helps.

Should I just go get some more A customs, or is there a cymbal line like it that I'm overlooking? There's something about the sound, it seems loud and bright but it has body, if that makes any sense to me. I hit a couple of other A custom cymbals at the store and they all have this quality...but I'm tired of spending money on cymbals for now, I want to do a lot of research this time around so I don't waste money..help!

If you crashride a lot, you'll probably break them. I have had an 18" A Custom Crash for less than a year and I've just broken my second one a couple weeks ago. They sound awesome, though. If you buy through Guitar Center or some other store that offers it, always buy the protection plan. Using A Customs for heavier music, you will more than get your money's worth out of it.

Of course, there's always the A Custom Projection Crashes. I haven't had the chance to play one, but I hear they're similar. Just a little louder and a little thicker.

DrumEatDrum

Platinum Member
A customs weren't really designed for loud music.