3 piece for Metal (is it good enough)?

neksss1

I have been using a 3 piece for about 6 months (snare/bass/tom-tom) and before 3/4 months i bought double pedal and started playing blast beats(16"notes 200BPM+).
So i'm curious is it okay to use a 3 piece with 3 cymbal (classics setup hats/crash/ride) to play that kind of music(death/deatcore/black/progressive)?

as long as you can play extremely fast - a 3 pc should be OK, as long as the drums are really, really black

Hahaha!

Seriously, the drum police aren't going to take away your drums if you don't have enough toms. Use what you like. Floor tom/kick/snare is definitely enough for a lot of stuff. You miiight want a china/stack in addition to your cymbal setup but even that's not absolute.

Hahaha!

Seriously, the drum police aren't going to take away your drums if you don't have enough toms. Use what you like. Floor tom/kick/snare is definitely enough for a lot of stuff. You miiight want a china/stack in addition to your cymbal setup but even that's not absolute.
I don't wanna sound rude but i wrote (snare/bass/tom-tom) !(please don't get offended)!
To clarify to you and others that gonna read setup is (22' bass drum,13" snare and 13'tom-tom(as in hanging tom)).

I'd personally add a couple of floor toms. One would suffice, though. Flams on the snare can only get you so far and that deep tom sound is kind of important for other stuff as well.

For practicing, with a bit of imagination, you can get around it with just the snare for a while. It's actually good for your creativity to practice with a limited number of playing surfaces.Playing music with others though, especially in a rock context, just one more bigger drum would add tons of options for you.

I have seen a few Rockabilly cats that just use a floor tom, seems to work well.