24x16 versus 22x18

octatonic

Hi ppl,

I've been wondering about the difference in tone between 24x16 and 22x18's?

I know there is a lot of variables but assuming the exact same drum manufacturer with the same hardware what are the main differences between these sizes.

I assume the volume (as in cubic volume, not sound level) is roughly equivalent so how does the translate into a different tone?
Is one more punchy than the other.

I'm a bit of a novice so any help you can give me would be appreciated.

TTNW

Pioneer Member
The 24 will have a bit lower tone than the 22. All things being equal they should produce about the same volume.

Shallower bass drums are a little more responsive with regard to the beater feel but with that said there isn't a real big difference between 16 and 18.

I sit in on a friends 70's Ludwig pretty often that has a 24x14 and I do like the sound, size and feel. My maple kit has a 22x18. They're both different woods and heads, etc.. so I can't make a straight comparison but my 22 is definitely louder than the 24 Ludwig. So the size doesn't always dictate the volume it can produce but the 24 definitely has a lower tone.

Hope this helps.

octatonic

The 24 will have a bit lower tone than the 22. All things being equal they should produce about the same volume.

Shallower bass drums are a little more responsive with regard to the beater feel but with that said there isn't a real big difference between 16 and 18.

I sit in on a friends 70's Ludwig pretty often that has a 24x14 and I do like the sound, size and feel. My maple kit has a 22x18. They're both different woods and heads, etc.. so I can't make a straight comparison but my 22 is definitely louder than the 24 Ludwig. So the size doesn't always dictate the volume it can produce but the 24 definitely has a lower tone.

Hope this helps.

Helps a lot- thanks.
Can you tune a 24" up higher and get a similar amount of punch to a 22"?
Or is it all down to dampening.