Search results

1. offdwall

How many rides and hi hat pairs do you have?

I am a professional recording engineer and amateur drummer so my perspective may be different from others here. Rides - I can see having multiples of. Very different sounds needed for different songs/styles. HH's - I think a basic set of 14" New Beats can cover anything IMO. I've had drummers...
  2. offdwall

Pre-"grid" musicianship

I have been a professional recording engineer for 30+ years. I have over 200 albums and untold TV and film credits. I'd say 80% of that material was recorded with a click track. It's VERY common and the caliber of drummers I deal with have absolutely no issue grooving to a click track. The 20% I...
  3. offdwall

Pre-"grid" musicianship

I'm in NO way promoting the over quantization of these drum parts but the 1st example was SO far off of Beato's determined 170, it's ridiculous. Hence why EVERYTHING of the original part was shown to be behind the beat. The second shuffle part was a SHUFFLE. He quantized the shuffle out of it...
  4. offdwall

The First Kit You Got

Ha. I had quite a collection of Junk cymbals too starting out. I bought my first “real” cymbals when I once leaned forward, shifting a little of my weight onto my HH foot. The top HH cymbal turned inside out. ? Bought a used pair of first generation 14” Zildjian New Beats that I still use today.
  5. offdwall

Pre-"grid" musicianship

It was not uncommon to record to a click even back then. A really good drummer can groove "around" the click while the band follows him. I see it every week. I'm a recording engineer by trade. Mediocre drummer for fun. :)
  6. offdwall

The First Kit You Got

My first kit was a 1967 Slingerland 3 piece kit my father bought me new for $187.00 (I recently found the receipt). 20" Kick, 9x13" rack tom, 5x14" snare. I still use the snare drum. I have the others up in the attic but as a stupid kid, I put various holes in them with Tama tom mounting hardware.
  7. offdwall