Search results

1. D

Silvery Tinge After Cleaning Cymbals

Today, I got my paiste cymbal cleaner as well as my paiste cymbal protector that I ordered online. For practice, I experimented polishing up my ZBT crash-ride first. It seems to have done a good job, the cymbal is very smooth, but there is a silvery tinge left on the cymbal (when you put it...
  2. D

Cymbal Dents and Patina

I recently bought a really nice set of vintage paiste 404's mixed with 505s. On the 18" crash, the bell hole is slightly bent inward, although there are no cracks. On the medium hi-hats, there are some small dents on the bell. Would it be possible or even recommended to hammer these out? I have...
  3. D

Does anyone know what this china cymbal may be worth or what it is???

A while ago, I got a 18" China Cymbal that came with my drum set. The seller of the drum set didn't know what company it was or where it came from (he received it from someone else). The sound of the cymbal itself is great, really dark, explosive, and crisp, but I was wondering whether it could...
  4. D

Quick Tuning Question

So a while ago, I was having trouble tuning my brass snare drum but I eventually got it so that it wouldn't have as many overtones. I also bought a few moongel as well and they helped quite a lot in dampening the un-wanted ring. The problem is, even when I tune the snare to a higher pitch, a...
  5. D

So frustrated with tuning

So I have been playing my pork pie big brass snare drum for a few months. I'm new to drumming so I'm not exactly sure why I've been having problems. I have tried tuning the resonant head many times but it never seems to eliminate the unwanted ring/overtone. I have read many different tuning...
  6. D

Maple Drum Kit: $300 on Craigslist