Search results

1. J

Sam ash and Guitar center buying used drums

Will Sam Ash or GC buy a used electric drum set? I am lookin to sell the Roland td-4sx which was 1400 new when I bought it. Will they buy gear like this, and do they give cash?
  2. J

Should I stay at community college

I am a drummer who goes to a college that is classically oriented, so as a percussion major I'm studying mallets and percussion. I am a jazz drummer though and think I might be taking to much time away from my main instrument; drum set. I am thinking about trying out for other schools that have...
  3. J

Zildjian cymbal choice for jazz

Can someone recommend a Zildjian ride cymbal that would go well with a Jazz trio or quartet setting, for a main ride. Something with stick definition and not a lot of overtones and sustain.
  4. J

Gretsch bass drum

Does anyone have a Gretsch Catalina jazz 18x14 that you are willing to sell?
  5. J

Jazz bass drum

Does anyone know online where I can buy a small bass drum, something like an 18x14 bass drum? I'm looking for something in the $200-300 price range.
  6. J

Jazz cymbals

Can someone recommend Zildjian ride cymbals with good stick definition, light with nice definition and clarity, and spread?
  7. J

Jazz cymbal

Can someone help me identify a cymbal. In the Jonathan Kreisberg album, titled "trioing", featuring Ari Hoenig on drums, Hoenig uses a cymbal that he hits and it has a sustained, mellow sizzle that sounds great. Can someone tell me what he might be using? I don't think it is a ride cymbal but...
  8. J

Jazz sizzle cymbals

Can anyone link me to some Zildjian cymbals that have the "sizzle" sound that sustain?
  9. J

Bass drum heads

Can anyone recommend a bass drum head and a resonant head that is good for a jazz setting?
  10. J

Selling drum kits

Does anyone know the best way to sell an acoustic drum set and an electric drum set?
  11. J

Ari Hoenig - anthropology