Search results

1. M

Progressing from a garage cover band to bigger stuff?

Hi all, Quick reintroduction- I joined these forums back in 2009 when I was in High School and remember spending a lot of time here watching videos and reading through threads as I was first learning the drums. I played for a couple years in my school's Jazz Band (and wasn't great) and when I...
  2. M

Other drummer's bad/nasty/uncomfortable drum sets!

I just feel i need to rant a little bit here. What is it about playing other people's kits that is just so annoying? I have been playing for just under two years, but i have my share of playing other people's drum sets and i just can't stand playing on a kit that is set up awkwardly, is in poor...
  3. M

Applying Free-Playing to music

Took me a while to come up with a lousy title, but anyways I just want to ask about practicing the drums with no goal in mind and simply letting whatever beat you have in you come out, or what I like to call Free-Playing. Okay lol I'm terrible at labeling stuff, but i hope you understand what i...
  4. M

Carter Beauford is now with Vic Firth

It's been a while since I've posted on here... Anyways. I just saw the post by DMB on Facebook, which includes a video of Beauford playing Spaceman. Just thought some of you might wanna see it. It might even be worthy of being put on the site...
  5. M

I'm struggling with the Samba!

Hey drummers. OK so i am in my school's Jazz Band and my song to play is "Brazil", almost exactly like the one here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCT_CMfh_NM&feature=related . As usual, my teacher passed out the sheet music for the song, but as we began playing he told me that he didn't like...
  6. M

Bongos or Cajon... or Bongo Cajon?