Search results

1. Ainulindale

first double pedal - advice?

hey guys! just went out and got a shiny new SpeedCobra, never owned a double pedal before and was just wondering what advice you all have for this total noob, anything on playing or technique, cause i'm completly oblivious ;-)
  2. Ainulindale

cheap cymbals - wasting time, wasting money?

i made the mistake of buying a Sabian B8 cymbal pack, almost 300$ canadian, in the end it was (imho) a complete waste of money - they were cheap cymbals that sounded cheap, i could not replace them fast enough, it took 2 months of scrimping, but i got myself some quality hand hammered b20 pies...
  3. Ainulindale

overtones...

what causes overtones in cymbals? i know when a drum is out of tune, its a tension issue, adjust the tension rods as neccasary and voila, nice even tone. so if overtones are present in a cymbal - what causes it? bad lathing, hammering, out of round shape???
  4. Ainulindale

drum kit with a black finish?

wether its piano, natural, glitter or whatever have you, do you like drum kits with a black finish? do you own a black set? have you in the past? why or why dont you like it? curious...
  5. Ainulindale

piracy ; worse case senario...

so, just a couple buddies hanging out, cards, rum, music, master of puppets came on and the conversation came around to downloading free music, lars and all that, one friend said, quote "worst case scenario, the record companies will go under and we will be forced to see our favorite bands live...
  6. Ainulindale

i dont play metal, but should i play a double pedal anyway?

i desperately need to upgrade my bass pedal, the stocker that came with the stage customs is just terrible (the one real sore spot on an otherwise great kit), now i dont play metal, dont have the inclination to learn either, but could i still use a double pedal? i do enjoy playing around with...
  7. Ainulindale

Yamaha's website is terrible!