Search results

1. M

ARE YOU A DIVE BAR DRUMMER?

I'd rather be a dive bar drummer than a diva bar drummer I can't judge any drummer starting out today, I learned at a time when my one semester of beginning band and TONS of gigs was enough to work as a drummer. Gigs and opportunities to play are less now and that's where you learn your craft...
  2. M

How about yourself Goose, it's your thread.
  3. M

I'm not defined by the venue I play in, as a drummer (that plays out with humans, for humans) I've played in many diverse settings. Too many stereotypes around, I'm just an experienced drummer.
  4. M

Learning Songs as the New Drummer

Ask them. I got a gig with a great player and wood-shedded his tunes, wrote out a book of his arrangements. When we gigged he said, "don't play like my other drummers, play like you but, COMMIT TO THE MUSIC"
  5. M

Better to be diverse or specialize?

Maybe one starts diversely and the specialty finds them. Maybe at some point, you just learn how to make music work. I've practiced tons of fusion and funk, got hip to NOLA and second line, played with good bluegrass players, done classic and country cover bands, etc, it ALL makes me play good...
  6. M

Approaching the Instrument

I just sit down in my favorite place on the planet like I have for 59 years. Practice room or stage, I'm still diggin' what got me there in the first place, playing drums. Mowing? I'm praying I get healed enough to mow again, paying $80 at 2 places for the moment.
  7. M

Beginner question

Hey goose, what do you practice to get your hands in shape if not rudiments? What are some of your unique skills you could share? Just wondering, what you call rules, I call tools.
  8. M

Common Classic Rock Shuffles

thanks!
  9. M

:unsure: Manic Depression (I can't find a good version by Jimi himself) Is it a shuffle, is it a waltz, it is fun to play
  10. M

Elvis 'flat tire' shuffle (backbeat bridge) Sly Graham Central station doobies
  11. M