Search results

1. M

Between 3 kits....

So, I'm not sure saying I've narrowed it down to three kits is a good thing or not. All three have a sound that would work for me. All are 10/12/14/20 kits with a snare (which I don't need). Yamaha Stage Customs (natural finish) , PDP Concept Birch (cherry to black fade sparkle), and Mapex...
  2. M

Mapex Armory's

Figured I'd start a thread. These are pretty impressive looking and sounding drums for their pricepoint. I prefer a bass drum tom mount, but those are getting few and far in between on decent kits. It looks like the older Armory's that are still in stock can be had with add on toms. Checking...
  3. M

Sold my SCP B/B's, looking again.... sorry.

Long time no post. I've been doing nothing drumming wise until a few months ago for several years. I started playing as our local town's big band jazz drummer as their original member retired just before turning 80. I'm a rock n roll kid from the 80's and 90's, so it has been quite the...
  4. M

My newest snare addition.... SLP G Bubinga

Couldn't pass up the Sam Ash 0% for 24 months! This snare also closely matches my Starclassic B/B limited edition finish and black hardware. Did a lot of listening online, almost thinking it could replace my DW 10&6 maple collectors I bought in 04. Seriously considering a Stewart Copeland...
  5. M

Am I a freak for not liking virgin bass drums?

I tried my first set recently with a virgin bass and was just irritated by the stand placement and had a really hard time getting the toms where I wanted them. Might also have been I didn't feel like buying all the required Pearl only hardware and the toms not having legs. Do I stick with...
  6. M

Affordable decent quality tom mounts for Pearl Optimounted toms