Search results

1. G

Metal drummers: hi-hat spacing question

As a new drummer I'm trying to figure out how to set up my hi-hats. From the metal albums I've listened to, I'm going to guess that a lot of the faster double bass type drummers leave barely any space between, or even disengage the clutch altogether on the hi-hat. I'm hearing a sustained sizzle...
  2. G

Setting up a tom rack

Alright, newbie here that just got a kit. I have a Gibraltar rack and I'm trying to set up two rack toms and a kick underneath it. The kick is over to the right underneath the rack (double pedal requires it), and on top are my two rack toms. The left one mounts over the kick fine, but the one to...
  3. G

Will Yamaha Tom mounts work for other brands?

I have a Gibraltar tom rack with some clamps, and it came with what appears to be these Yamaha brand tom mounts with black balls and short hex rods. Will these fit some Tama toms? Something tells me that the hex rods probably aren't a good match. The Yamaha mounts I have are also not L rods either.
  4. G

90s Tama Kit differences

I've only got an electronic kit and I'm ready to upgrade to a real kit. I'm looking at some older catalogs from the 90s since I wanna go with an older used kit, and being inexperienced with drum gear, I don't really know what to go for. There are the Starclassic maple, birch and Performers, the...
  5. G

Heel Up Technique

New drummer here. There are quite a few different techniques I've read about for kick drums but I haven't found any information that explains everything clearly. Heel down seems to have your foot flat on the pedal, then you raise your toes/ball of foot a bit from the ankle and strike down with...
  6. G

Gibraltar Clamp hex nuts?