Search results

1. gish

24” bass drum versatility?

Hey all, I have an eye on a good deal for a 13-16-24 kit. 30 years on the instrument, but have only owned 22” and 20” bass drums. I primarily play classic rock/pop/country cover stuff. For those that own or have owned 24” bass drums, do you find them to be versatile? Or do you find yourself...
  2. gish

Suggest Some Cymbals

About me- I’m a weekend gigging drummer playing classic rock/pop stuff. My current cymbal set is fine; 15” new beats, 18” medium thin crash, 21” sweet ride. My cymbals are on the bright side of the spectrum. I find myself wanting a darker, more “mature” sound so to speak. Nothing too crazy...
  3. gish

Flat Base Hardware Opinions

I’m looking to pick up a pack of flat base hardware to lighten my load for gigging and rehearsals. Some initial observations- Tama- love their gear, but looks like they don’t yet have a flat base boom stand. I’d like a boom for ride cymbal placement. Also, looks like in order to pack the...
  4. gish

How much should I cut off?

So, I was THIS close a year and a half ago to having my 18x22 Saturn bass drum cut down to 14x22. However I wound up selling that kit. I now have a Tama Starclassic B/B with an 18x22 virgin bass drum. I really like this kit, and love the way the kick drum sounds as is. Looking for some...
  5. gish

Opinions on Pearl Decade Maple 13-16-24

I’m looking at a great deal on a used Pearl Decade Maple kit in the sizes listed above. I’m intrigued at the thought of adding this kit to complement my 12-14-20 kit for certain situations (plus my wife says I look a little silly playing the smaller drums lol). REALLY intrigued at...
  6. gish

Calling All Rogers Experts

Please take a look at this link; any info on what series these are would be appreciated. Waiting to hear back from the seller. https://allentown.craigslist.org/msg/d/vintage-rogers-drums/6650061900.html
  7. gish

Interesting Craigslist Ad