Search results

1. Jml

Older Yamaha Stage Custom worth it?

I’m still in the market to replace my old kit, and came across a second generation Yamaha Stage Custom shell pack only (no stands, snare or cymbals) for $300. It’s from the early 2000’s with the yellow/black badge and says “Stage Custom Standard”. Sizes are 10, 12, 16, 20. I understand they were...
  2. Jml

Can anyone identify these Mapex drums?

Still in the market for another kit. I came across these. Can anyone tell me what wood they may be made from, and what they may be worth? I’m a newb with older Mapex kits. Thanks.
  3. Jml

Tama Swingstar - How old, and is it worth it?

Guys, I have a chance to buy a 3 piece Tama Swingstar for $150. The sizes are 13, 16, 22. I can’t tell what year these Swingstars are, and I thought some Tama experts out there might know from the photos below. Also wanted to know if it’s worth the cash. The heads are newer apparently. Just...
  4. Jml

Small feet and heel down - which shortboard pedal???

As stated above, I have size 7 1/2 to 8 feet (depending on the shoe). I prefer playing heel down, but can play some heel up. Playing heel down is harder to me with the longboards. I have gone through just about every pedal - all DWs are heavy, (except the 9000, which I couldn’t dial in)...
  5. Jml

First gig ever!

Was on Craigslist looking to add a bass player to our group of guys who just jam for fun. Came across ad looking for worship musicians. The thing is, I don’t belong to this church, listen to Christian music and haven’t been to church in 30 years. But I wanted to step out of my...
  6. Jml

What bass drum is this?

Just got a new (vintage) kit. I’m not sure what type of bass drum I got (the toms are Slingerland and Eames). I’ve attached photos. Drum is 20 x 14. There is no badge (tom mount is a new Pearl one). The wrap and lugs may not be original but rims appear to be. Interior is painted silver, and...
  7. Jml

Port hole necessary in this scenario?