Search results

1. G

Bought 2 jazz drumming books to expand my horizons...thoughts?

Hey all, So I'm primarily more of a heavy hitter. My comfort zone is basic rock/alternative/punk. Put on any Foo Fighters or Green Day record and I can hang with it cover to cover no problem. Lately though I've been feeling very stagnant and feel like I've plateau'd the past couple years. I...
  2. G

Un-doing the caveman approach and turning over a new leaf w/ Moeller

Hey all, I was fortunate enough to take a lesson with Gil Sharone yesterday and we spent a good portion of the lesson really breaking down the Moeller technique. I'm a self-taught player of 16 years, and have just felt stuck in a stagnant rut the past couple years. I'm a great rock player...
  3. G

PDP 5x14 "The Ace" Brass Snare...what to upgrade "out of the box"?

Hey all, I got my dad the 6.5x14 for Christmas, and it sounded unreal. I got a good deal through a music store I used to work at for the 5x14. I loved the 6.5x14, but I already have 2 snares that size and a 6x14. I was just curious if anyone had any suggestions as to what I may want to upgrade...
  4. G

Input on working with "Stick Control for the Snare Drummer" please...

Hey all, I finally just bought "Stick Control for the Snare Drummer", after 16 years of drumming :) I can't wait to crack it open and get working. Just wanted to maybe get some advice from those who have already gotten deep into it. I know it says in the book "practice each line 20 times"...
  5. G

Good "soft" practice pad?

Hey all, So I currently have an HQ "real feel" pad but am in the market for something with less rebound to strengthen my hands a bit and increase my control without relying so heavily on rebound. I get wary of trusting pads marketed as "soft" after trying the Vater soft pad and finding it to be...
  6. G

Preventing hardware pitting by storing drums/stands?