Search results

1. River19

Holy Grail of the Drum World?

So, as a musician I watch, follow, read etc many musicians and always find classic gear discussions really interesting whether it is trying to find and buy classic Neve Consoles or the constant search for real '59 Les Pauls or '57 Fender Bass guitars........ So what is the drum equivalent? I...
  2. River19

This Silly Snare......

........it just works better than it should. I normally try to avoid posting day in day out minutiae akin to "I pooped today" but........ As some of you recall I picked up this rewrapped older Ludwig snare a month or so ago to add to the stack of options. Since then, I have found it works...
  3. River19

Nordic Shells Becoming the "go to" Shell maker?

Heard on good authority that Keller is unable or possibly unwilling to keep up production as the drum shell business is a small portion of their overall portfolio. Rumor has it Nordic is becoming the go to for ply shells not currently made in house. I have been following Nordic for a bit as I...
  4. River19

Let's Talk Kick Drum Mic's & Mixing

I have had the home studio up and running for a couple months now and cut probably 40-60 songs over that time with overall positive reaction on sound etc. One thing that I have gotten really good comments on was how low and "punchy" my kick tone is. The bulk of that is due to the awesomeness...
  5. River19

Classic Ludwig Snare Identification

Hey, I just picked up (shipping in transit now) a re-wrapped Ludwig snare which I believe is from the 1960s but could use a little help identifying what it could be. 8 lug 14 x 5 or 5.5" Keystone badge "Ludwig Drum Co Chicago USA" Interior looks to me like Mahogany with maple re-rings It's the...
  6. River19

What are you playing today? (Music not gear)