Search results

1. MrInsanePolack

Today in Musical History

September 28th 1902 Ed Sullivan is born. His tv show would introduce many new acts to the American public, including the Beatles. 1966 Kenny Wilson, aka Ginger Fish (drummer for Marilyn Manson) is born. 1976 Stevie Wonder releases Songs in the Key of Life. 1991 Garth Brooks album Ropin' the...
  2. MrInsanePolack

Too obsessed with drums?

I have been obsessed with drums since I can remember. It's all I've ever wanted to do. And now that I've been playing them for almost 3 decades, I'm still obsessed with them. Maybe even more so.
  3. MrInsanePolack

Two floor tom set ups. 14/16 or 16/18?

All 3. Put the 18 next to the hats.
  4. MrInsanePolack

Outside the box drum shells

I'm not worried about the cost of glue, rather the amount of glue vs wood. The more staves, the more glue. I'm thinking here about how much glue is used in ply drums and how that glue affects the wood. A stave drum only has glue at the joints. The less joints, the less glue, the more pure wood...
  5. MrInsanePolack

I guess depending on how many staves I used it could work. It's maybe 4 inches in diameter at the base though. If the staves were 2", that's roughly 20 staves for a 13" drum as a 13" drum is approximately 40" in circumference. That's a bunch of glue.
  6. MrInsanePolack

Drum Kit made from Reclaimed Closet Doors

This is a perfect example of why construction is more important than materials. Those drums sound horrible, even with the "better" wood. I'm a bit miffed that he got brand new, donated heads. The rest of us who actually play have to buy those things. Even manufacturers have to buy heads.
  7. MrInsanePolack

Today in Musical History