Search results

1. GCRoberts

Question on DW cymbal felts

I'm a first year drummer on my first drum kit (DW Performance), so I'll be asking dumb questions for a few more years! :cool: I understand that you shouldn't over tighten the cymbal wing nuts. The DW felts seem to be so sturdy that there's a fine line between loose and snug. Just seems like...
  2. GCRoberts

Drum tuning - limited success with method I'm using

I've heard from numerous sources that you should strive to tune your drums so you don't need to use any mutes or dampeners to minimize snare buzz. I've been attempting to reach this goal with limited success so far. For reference, I have a DW Performance Kit with a 14"x6.5" snare, 22" bass...
  3. GCRoberts

Guitar Center bankruptcy

Just got an email from Guitar Center stating that they are filing for bankruptcy. Haven't they filed chapter 11 a few times in the past?
  4. GCRoberts

The only good thing about COVID-19 for this new drummer

In January, on a whim, I decided I wanted to learn to play the drums. My kids are grown, but we still had their entry level Pearl kit just sitting in the loft from when they took lessons a few years back. So at 57 yrs of age, I contacted their former drum teacher and inquired about lessons...
  5. GCRoberts

Question relating throne backrest to bass drum technique

This is going to be a goofy question, but I'm definitely looking for opinions here. I've only been playing for 9 months and haven't really decided whether I want to be a "heel up" or "heel down" player, or both. I seem to have a little more control in "heel down", but I have more power and...
  6. GCRoberts

Newbie question on cowbell mounts

I was looking at a LP Rock Ridge Rider Cowbell. The mount is welded on in a slight angle. Probably two thirds of LP's cowbells have the same angle, but the rest rest have a perfectly squared bracket on them. What is the reason for this angle?
  7. GCRoberts

Triggering for a practice pad?