Search results

1. H

A vs A Custom?

I have a choice between A Mastersounds or A Custom Mastersounds. Sonically, what's the difference? My other cymbals are K Customs and I'm looking for some hats that will mesh well with them.
  2. H

13" K/Z hh vs 14" A Mastersound hh

I currently have a 13" K/Z hh that I'm not crazy about. I'm a big fan of Ks and have other K cymbals, but I'm not really a fan of these 13" hats. And that Z bottom is an aquired taste. Anyone have experience with these as well as 14" A Mastersound hats? I have an opportunity to trade. What can I...
  3. H

Getting the Gig

I'm new to drums; however, I played bass semi professionally for 30 years. I've done a lot of things to get or keep good gigs in the past: played in a suit and tie, cut my hair, bought new gear, left my wife and child to go on the road, and more. Just wondering what other folks have gone through...
  4. H

Do your neighbors complain?

I'm lucky to live in a house on a corner lot, so my neighbors aren't right next to me. Still, I worry about disturbing them once I put normal heads on (currently using silent stroke heads). Do your neighbors complain about volume?
  5. H

Adjust Pedal or Technique

Sorry not sure if this is a pedal issue, a technique issue, or both. My bass drum pedal seems too sensitive. When I play one beat it rebounds quickly into a second unless I immediately pull my foot up. Is this the pedal being too sensitive, or is this just proper bass drum technique (pulling...
  6. H

Sabian 23" Limited Edition Override

Just purchased one of these behemoths used at my local music store. Jimmy Degrasso signature model, only 200 made. This thing is a beast, exactly what I needed to cut through a Marshall stack. Exceptionally loud, especially the 8" raw bell. I love this bell for its variety of tones and silky...
  7. H

Using a ride as a crash?