Search results

1. Mastiff

Pics of 3 up configurations?

I'm researching for my next kit, which I want to have 3 rack toms. Looking for ideas on how best to mount them (and exactly where, positionally). I'd like to feel more centered than my current kit which is kind of like "all to the right" except the hi-hat, as is typical. This may not be...
  2. Mastiff

Dumb question: How to buy drums?

I'll be looking to upgrade to a "real" kit after many years on a starter 5 piece Tama kit. I'm thinking about a slightly bigger kit than is in vogue right now, like a 3 up, 2 down type setup. Looking on Sweetwater (for example) I see full kits in common setups, like 4 and 5 pieces. I also see...
  3. Mastiff

Double bass lost in mix

I'm still new to double bass, but getting better... I'm working on a recording with a single pedal part at the beginning and then at the end a double bass part, fast for me at 180 bpm (actually 32nds at 90bpm). What I notice is that at the beginning of the song, in the single bass parts, the...
  4. Mastiff

Treating ceiling in recording space

I have a small recording space, something like 10x10' with a 7.5' ceiling. I have some denim insulation on the walls and stacked in the corners to deaden the room a bit. The ceiling is untreated. I've heard of people hanging absorbent materials down from the ceiling, and indeed the ceiling is...
  5. Mastiff

Compressor as quasi-trigger for bass?

It seems like a compressor could be used to collapse the dynamic range of the bass drum and give it more of a trigger effect. Is it possible? When I try to make the compressor settings in Studio One very aggressive, it has the effect of making the bass too quiet. This makes sense since the...
  6. Mastiff

Anyone using Presonus 1824c?