Search results

1. philrudd

Effect of alcohol on drum practice...?

I have a shot of Don Julio to begin and have a Fosters by my floor tom throughout every rehearsal or gig. I guess I'm a bit of an anachronism.
  2. philrudd

The first time I ever broke a piece of hardware...

Wanna hear something bizarre? When I started out, I broke stuff all the time - cymbals, heads, even hardware. Now, thirty years on, I barely even break sticks anymore. It's crazy, I know! It's almost like I had no idea what I was doing when I started...
  3. philrudd

When you meet the former drummer of your current band...

When I first moved to Georgia I joined a band as their second drummer. I listened to the recordings they'd made, and absolutely hated the drumming. I completely ignored it when I started playing those songs; not one member of the band ever complained. (Actually they were complimentary, leading...
  4. philrudd

Drum shaming..

I've seen the same ads for the same videos, but I never considered it shaming, or even click bait. I figured it just wasn't marketed to me, specifically; there are so many kinds of drumming, drummers and drum styles, I assume they're targeting someone else - someone who might find the 11/8...
  5. philrudd

How to be one of the 10 richest drummer at a young age ?

Everybody's making this WAY to complicated. David, if you want to be the richest drummer in the world, just charge the highest prices for your services. End of story! Can't believe no one else thought of that...
  6. philrudd

Drummerworld forum mood/climate

Just once I'd love to read a long rant on this forum that has exactly ZERO political commentary. I can dream, can't I?....
  7. philrudd

Sting's 2020 Tour - Is Vinnie playing in Sting's band?

Almost 4 decades after I first saw the footage of that Atlanta concert...it still gives me goosebumps to watch and listen. They were on FIRE.
  8. philrudd

Hating on the Stock Snare