Teaching question

J.D.

I've turned down teaching jobs for years for 2 reasons. 1) I have zero patience. I'd probably have people run out after 10min. "It's 1...2...3...4!! You're just counting to freaking FOUR!" 2) I'm not sure what gets taught anymore. Are people still learning rudiments? I wasn't *allowed* near a set until I had a lot of rudiments/etc nailed down. Or do you just put people right on a set now?

You'll need as much patience with the growth of your own teaching skills as with the students.

There's no yes or no. It's complicated. Sure, we teach rudiments, but the question is more how and to who.

Just don't be that guy that treats an 8 yo like it's yourself at 14.

When I started taking lessons a couple of years ago as a new drummer, I was asked what path I wanted to take. They offered "street drumming" which was simply get on the kit and learn to play songs, or did I want a more pedantic approach; meaning learning to read.

I opted for the latter and after a year or so I asked to go strictly to the pad and to focus on rudiments and hand control for a period of time.

If you want to teach, I would imagine you can find students that want to learn the way you want to teach.

I taught guitar lessons for a while and it was a pain. I had a handful of students that really wanted to learn. I had many more that didn't take it seriously. Young kids can be the worst. I would do it again, but only for a few highly motivated students.

For the record, I don't want to teach, and probably never will. Just curious *what* was being taught. I learned in NY doing the Sam Ulano thing (after first learning rudiments from West Point cadets). I still have, and use, a thick drum pad I made back then, alone with two pieces of 1/2" metal tubing instead of sticks.IMG_20230208_161658447.jpg