E-kits and head changing

Janet Tambour

I've been playing e-kits for the past 25 years. I've had my current kit since 2012. I'm going to be out gigging with it again and I listening to all the acoustic drummers on this forum talking about changing heads, got me thinking, should I change mine? In the last 5, 6 years I've become a heavy hitter always using wood tipped sticks.
So what's the consensus - when should you change mesh heads? How often should they be changed?

BTW-other than a few dirt smudges mine look exactly like they did when I got the kit. They also feel as tight as the last time I tightened them up. Also I just asked this same question on the Vdrums list and so far the only answer I've gotten was from a guy who's never changed his either. ;)

I've been playing e-kits for the past 25 years. I've had my current kit since 2012. I'm going to be out gigging with it again and I listening to all the acoustic drummers on this forum talking about changing heads, got me thinking, should I change mine? In the last 5, 6 years I've become a heavy hitter always using wood tipped sticks.
So what's the consensus - when should you change mesh heads? How often should they be changed?

BTW-other than a few dirt smudges mine look exactly like they did when I got the kit. They also feel as tight as the last time I tightened them up. Also I just asked this same question on the Vdrums list and so far the only answer I've gotten was from a guy who's never changed his either. ;)