Is the secondhand market as slow as it is because of the lockdowns??

Hey guys,

It's a question for any musician trying to sell off their instruments (in order to buy new ones). I've had my drums up for sale in Western Europe for months now, and the selling is extremely slow. Never seen this before in my life, and I've been buying and trading for a few decades, always with good results and timely, up until now that is. I believe the lockdowns are largely responsible for this, as no shows are allowed since months.

What's your thoughts?

Greetings, Kris

It's been a crappy 12+ months for gigging drummers and it's most definitely a buyers market.

If you're buying and selling in order to make a few quid I wouldn't bother, a lot of people are selling equipment to pay bills.

Another possibility: The gear-buying frenzy is coming to a halt (temporarily, of course). Through much of the pandemic, people have had free time on their hands. Idleness can promote profligacy, and some were eager to squander their stimulus funds. Many purchased drums and cymbals they didn't need. They're now gazing at rooms full of gear they'll never use, either putting it up for sale or at least abstaining from buying more. Fewer purchases combined with a surplus of equipment sets the stage for a slower market. It might take time for conditions to turn around.

New instrument sales skyrocketed during the shutdown. Sweetwater has been selling a thousand guitars a day. There is so much demand that China ran out of containers, you have to pay a $15k surcharge to get one today. The used market may be flat because of all the new inventory and super-cheap financing flooding the market. Not to mention with the gov't throwing around thousand dollar checks, why buy used?

On the other hand, though a keyboard or guitar make perfect sense when shut in with your family, a drum set may not! They're a little noisy.