Small space practice kit.

BillyBumbler

Hi all.

I have a Roland TD-12 kit which my Dad gave me but it is just too big for my current space but I need something at home as I’m starting lessons after lockdown ends, I'm a complete beginner.

My requirements are it must be compact, be it foldable, table top or just a small floor space, quiet as I have a rescue dog that reacts to banging and as realistic in feel as possible as my lessons will be on an acoustic kit so I need to be able to practice any rudiments, rebounds e.t.c

I’ve looked around at things like the Medeli tabletop variants like the Alesis Compact Kit 7 other tabletop ones like the Yamaha DD-75 and the compact Roland TD-1K.

Does anyone have any recommendations? To be honest these are all I really know and as we are in lockdown I don’t have the opportunity to try any out so all I can do is read reviews, watch videos and ask those of you who have a better knowledge than me.

Thank you all for reading.

Those will work fine for learning. If you want it to emulate a kit, make sure it's got hi hat and bass drum pedals or switches.

If you want to go a bit more upscale, there's stuff like the Roland SPD-SX, SPD-30, Yamaha DTX-M12, and Alesis Strike pads.

For rudiments and basic practice work, all you really need is a practice pad, a pair of sticks, and a guide book or sheet.
They're like the same thing, I'd say even worse because there's no spacing between the pads themselves.

If you want to learn, get a full sized kit. You're not going far with a table top kit, that's a toy. SPD-SX and company are sample players and are meant as an auxiliary piece to a normal acoustic kit.

They're like the same thing, I'd say even worse because there's no spacing between the pads themselves.

If you want to learn, get a full sized kit. You're not going far with a table top kit, that's a toy. SPD-SX and company are sample players and are meant as an auxiliary piece to a normal acoustic kit.
Thank you.