Drumming Rudiments Technique Help?

Hi Everyone,

I'm a pretty new drummer. Over Christmas I really want to perfect my technique playing rudiments singles/doubles/paradidles etc. I'm not interested necessarily in speed but just improving my overall technique. I know speed comes with slow practice I get that so there's no need to rush right. I was taking lessons once a week but due to covid at the moment it's been a struggle. The problem is I've been finding is when seeing other instructors explaining the rudiments they're all explaining them differently which leaves me confused thinking what's the correct technique.
My question is just say I'm practicing single stroke rolls at different subdivisions with a metronome set at 50BPM. How does someone know when to move on with the tempo because I'm always second guessing myself thinking is that good enough. I want to feel like I'm making progress with my drumming not staying in the same place. I don't want to create bad habits in my drumming Be nice to know how people practice there technique and making progress with their drumming?

Cheers guys hope someone could help

Merry Christmas

Last edited:
I always thought hand technique should come before rudiments.

Not all teachers teach technique. It's a sticky subject. (hey that's a pun!)

FWIW, IMO, one goal of technique is to not use the elbows to move the sticks. Wrists and opening of the hand FTW.

My teacher taught me a method that is basically a one handed clap. (Matched) Except with a drumstick in your hand

You never move on from playing warmups with big, slow motions. I spend the first 15-20 minutes of practice playing super, super slow, mostly hand technique, but also some foot technique and whatever grooves I’m working on. The only question is how fast you can push it before it sounds uneven and uncontrolled. THAT’S what changes over time. Recording yourself really helps you know how you’re really sounding.