Recent content by slhanks04

1. slhanks04

At what age did you start drumming?

I started playing when I was 9, took a couple of years of lessons, played in a few bands through high school. Sold my drums to buy a dirt bike. Picked the drums up again about 10 years later, (late 80's now married with children) played in a couple of bar bands, then my sons pretty much took...
  2. slhanks04

What's your latest purchase?

I've been on a snare acquisition binge to build my collection. I've bought 3 in the past few weeks. I am still waiting for them to arrive, so these are stock photos, 1. Pearl Session Studio Select 14x6.5 in Gloss Barnwood Brown: 2. Tama SLP quilted bubinga 14x6: 3. Mapex Black Panther...
  3. slhanks04

What got you HOOKED on drums?

When I saw the Beatles on Ed Sullivan, Ringo Starr inspired me to play the drums. I was 5 years old, but I remember just watching Ringo through the entire performance. Maybe 3 years later, I got a small beginner drumset for Christmas. That did it for me. I've been playing ever since.
  4. slhanks04

What are the first 3 memorable rock concerts you attended?

I've been to well over 100 concerts since the 1970's here are the 3 most memorable ones. 1. Rush - Moving Pictures tour 1981 2. Iron Maiden - Seventh Son tour 1988 w/opening act Guns N Roses 3. Aerosmith - Rocks tour 1976(?) Honorable mentions: The Police - Reunion tour 2007, Roger Waters' The...
  5. slhanks04

Eddie Van Halen Dies

2020 has been a tough year for musicians. This is a real shame. Rest in peace, Eddie.
  6. slhanks04

1970’s -1980’s Rock drummers

Bonham, Peart, Paice, Ward, and Copeland.
  7. slhanks04

Jimi Hendrix died 50 years ago today.

Yep, Jimi was a paratrooper.
  8. slhanks04

What's your latest purchase?

Not a purchase....yet. I pre-ordered one of the new Ludwig Speed King pedals. Hopefully it will be here in a couple of weeks.
  9. slhanks04

Online music stores "My Rant!"