Recent content by Rotarded

1. Rotarded

Let's talk about resale value

Do you consider the purchase of a drum kit as purchasing an asset? Is it a store of value? Is it a tool? Does it appreciate/depreciate? Do you figure in ammortization? There are many ways to look at this, But I digress. My paradigm: My first consideration in any "large" purchase is the value...
  2. Rotarded

Desert Island Snare Drums

5x14 Ludwig Lacquer over Brass 401 w/COB hoops and 6.5x14 Acrolite. Basically all the ranges of metal snare coverage (Black Beauty, Supraphonic, Acrolite), while the deep Acrolite can be tuned for more of a woody sound.
  3. Rotarded

Does anybody have two of the same kit?

No, but I'm a 22" Ludwig Bass drum away from having both a "Downbeat" and a "Super Classic" in the same year (1964), and finish (BDP).
  4. Rotarded

who is your favorite drummer in the world?

I had a lot of influences early, mostly in the "octave of toms" world. Being self taught, and a child of rock, I had little exposure to a lot of the "early" kings such as Krupa, Rich, and others of that era, and aped most of the 70's and 80's mondo kit drummers. Now in my late 50's, I am...
  5. Rotarded

Anyone have a drum riser you actually travel with?

Solid as a rock. I used ratcheting squeeze clamps to fasten the panels together. Quick and easy. It was heavy as the frames were 2"x 2"s, topped with 3/4" MDF, and piano hinges running the depth of each. Each of the 3 panels weighed about 35 pounds. Bonus was that on any hard surface, you could...
  6. Rotarded

Anyone have a drum riser you actually travel with?

I did until last week, when I left my band and gave it away. 3 piece portable bucket riser I made and gigged with for 6 years. Angled on one end so it could be cornered. Fit in the trunk of my Kia Optima, with rack hardware as well, and the shell kit in passenger compartment. Still had the...
  7. Rotarded

How many of you are self-taught?