Recent content by NYDRUMMA

1. N

Rush - Animate Drum Cover

New style of music for me. This had some fast 32nd notes and sextuplets that I didn't always play clean. I'm still learning and this groove was infectious. Hitting the bell on the upbeat took some getting used to but it's something that I had (and still do) to work on. I've been concentrating...
  2. N

Aquarian Cymbal Springs....Bad Purchase?

I purchased an aquarian cymbal spring because I was told that it would extend the life of cymbals. I purchased it when I bought a used 16" Paiste signature power crash. Shortly after the crash cracked. I thought no big deal that's what I get for buying used. After that I purchased a new set of...
  3. N

Cracking cymbals is it poor technique? Also a question about thickness.

Recently I've been playing with more confidence and hitting harder. I cracked an A custom 16 inch medium thin crash that was used and old and I replaced it with a 16 inch Paiste signature power crash used from ebay. Well 3 weeks with that crash and it is cracking. I am also noticing that my...
  4. N

My drumming is starting to "click." I think I'm getting it...

UPDATE: March 2012 Ok, so it's been about six more months, I'm still doing the cover thing as I feel I'm just not ready/confident enough to try a band. The situation would have to be right also. I practice these covers and other things a lot and finding the right people patient enough when I...
  5. N

Started my drum room a couple of weeks ago. Some progress photos.

So first thing is first. This is my first house and the first project I've ever taken on virtually alone, so go easy on my craftsmanship. Up until I started this project you probably could have extracted more carpentry out of a set of drumsticks than my hands....yeah THAT BAD lol. A few things...
  6. N

Questions on mixing drums. Very confused