Recent content by KarlCrafton

1. KarlCrafton

Drum bag recommendations?

If you didn't get any bags yet, I can recommend BEATO Bags, 1000% Worth every cent. Great zippers, solid quality. I have a cymbal bag, stick bag, pedal bag, hardware bag. LOVE them.
  2. KarlCrafton

First time In Ear Monitors

The KZ AS10's are FANTASTIC sounding! I was really surprised. I actually got them based on the reviews on Drummerworld. Not very expensive, if you don't need to go the custom molded route.
  3. KarlCrafton

Supralite Head

Yes, It's the impost head with Ludwig type coating. Attack brand used to be similar, but there are new owners, and I believe a new film. They had a heavier coating. Aquarian Texture Coated single ply is similar, but not as thin. The Supralite is a great snare. All of the sizes sound really...
  4. KarlCrafton

Does the cymbal stand make a difference in the cymbal's sound?

I haven't noticed any difference between heavy, medium or flat base stands. If he's using Tama flat base stands, I believe the threaded post the cymbal goes on may be 6mm, instead of 8mm, and that will make a little difference in the amount of swing the cymbal has. The felts on those stands are...
  5. KarlCrafton

People with 26" bass drums: WTF do you drive?

I'll second this also. I had one of these and these have a TON of space.
  6. KarlCrafton

People with 26" bass drums: WTF do you drive?

I can get my kit in a Kia Soul. 18x26" bass drum, 3 floor toms. snare case, pedal, cymbal, hardware bags. I do not use cases (other than the 2 snares) to haul this in the Soul. The back seats fold FLAT. In one band I use a 16x26 13,16,18 and it is NO problem to fit it in the Soul. Great gas...
  7. KarlCrafton

What's your latest purchase?

I had my friend Billy Baker make this shell up for me. Black Nickel over brass. Put it together last night. Badge to match the rest of my gear. I will NEVER sell this drum! I've never had a straight shelled metal snare. It sounds amazing!