Recent content by jimb

1. J

I am having problems playing in front of people got any tips to help

Try telling that to orchestral players at the top of their game...years of practise and study, every bar note perfect....but I bet some still get nervous.
  2. J

I am having problems playing in front of people got any tips to help

Yep, competence breeds confidence. There's no way around it really.
  3. J

Ever had a band you just couldn't like

Looks like I'm up for a ban too........Prince!. Well you asked. I'm the funkiest soulful dude your ever gonna meet but I dunno his stuff all sounds like poorly written nursery rhymes to me and peeps compare him to Stevie Wonder, Philly Soul etc etc. I just do not get it......s'ok, I'll...
  4. J

Go easy on the floor toms dudes!

Ha..the the old low mid range huh. I'm an x bassist and floor toms are the drummers equivalent of the P bass....know exactly what u mean.
  5. J

My favorite sticks

I practise a lot with low volume cymbals which seem to destroy sticks so its Nova 5A's for the moment...I've got a pair of old heavy sticks, 5A thickness which are just perfect but I don't use much for fear of wearing them out.
  6. J

PST7 Hats

My cymbals are all 505's and I'd been looking for 505 hi hats but they are getting way too expensive now....reckon these 7's will do for a while.
  7. J

Join A Sub Par Band Just To Get Back Out There?

I'm in a similiar situation as a drummer but been there many times as a bassist. What really gets me is they send out a load of tunes and I learn them cause I love playing drums. Get to rehearsal and it doesn't take me long to realise that they haven't learned half the tunes properly.....its so...
  8. J

Getting a Broadkaster pretty soon. You can help me deceide on the finish.

Well I dig the whole Charlie Watts vibe....so yes the first one but we all like different things which is good.
  9. J

PST7 Hats