Recent content by HeavyDrums

1. H

A vs A Custom?

They are both available used at my local music-go-round. There isn't much price difference. That's what I meant by having a choice. I'm limited to buying used at the moment.
  2. H

A vs A Custom?

Thank you. I preferred the As, but I couldn't articulate why. I play with heavy sticks and the As just felt better.
  3. H

A vs A Custom?

I have a choice between A Mastersounds or A Custom Mastersounds. Sonically, what's the difference? My other cymbals are K Customs and I'm looking for some hats that will mesh well with them.
  4. H

Old dude learning

I'm 49 and I just started drumming in July. You're never too old to make music. Plus learning a new instrument staves off Alzheimer's.
  5. H

What are you doing today as a drummer?

Learning my first song: Comfortably Numb
  6. H

Bass guitar shelter? :(

My basses were my work horses, my babies. I could never leave one somewhere. Not even for a day.
  7. H

Too old to Play Drums

I had the same experience when I turned 40. Younger players thought I was too old. Here I am almost 50 and I just switched to drums. I understand it will be difficult to find others my age still willing to play heavy rock. People keep saying I should play jazz or blues, rock is a young man's...
  8. H

Sina Doering

I've been watching her videos, trying to pick up things, for a while. She can play, no doubt. She nailed Motorhead's Ace of Spades and Toto's Rosanna. Two songs I wish I could play. Never heard her original stuff.
  9. H

Jazz to some people...

I really dig some types of jazz, the type where the melody is prevalent and it swings. I love the way Willie Nelson interprets jazz tunes. But the whole multi voices playing over each other, anything frenetic, bores me. As a musician, I have no desire to play jazz. Tried it in music school and...
  10. H

Beginner drummer needs help