Recent content by Goreliscious

1. Goreliscious

Old school thrash/death metal sound

Assuming you've done as much as possible with skin selection, tuning, mic poisitioning etc, what sort of EQ/reverb/compression etc goes into getting this sorta drum sound... Bass drum and toms: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CGCicusPalo Snare: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvuO2EvCTAE How do...
  2. Goreliscious

Endorsement?

How do you go about getting endorsement? Can you seek endorsement or do you have to be approached? Cheap stuff is better than full price stuff.
  3. Goreliscious

VST plugins

I'm new to recording/mixing and have just discovered what VST plugins are... Can anyone tell me if there's plugins that have a whole range of drum EQ/reverb/compression presets? I have a very basic DAW with crappy presets. I've tried a bit of Googleing but I need help with search terms as I'm so...
  4. Goreliscious

5 piece tom configuration

Anyone else find that you write beats and fills differently depending on whether you're using a 2 up 1 down kit or a 1 up 2 down kit? I recently changed from using a 1 up 2 down kit to a 2 up 1 down kit and suddenly started putting more rolls in and less tom rhythms in. With 1 up 2 down I...
  5. Goreliscious

Stiff forearm

Can anyone suggest some simple warm ups or stretches I can do before a gig to stop my right forearm ceasing up and getting painful? Nowadays I take a practice pad with me and play some basic rudiments on it for about 5-10 minutes before we go on so that I've warmed up a little without using up...
  6. Goreliscious

dead 13" Pinstripe

Hi, I have a 5 piece with 12", 13", 16" toms. The 12" and 16" are fine but I can't get anything out of the 13", it sounds like the drum is full of cotton wool. All 3 skins are new, though I did however buy the 13" after the 12" and 16" as they were originally on my old kit which was 12", 14"...
  7. Goreliscious

quick Drum Dial/Tension Watch question...