Recent content by EricT43

1. E

THE GOOD SNARE THREAD

Why have I waited so long to get an aluminum snare? I recently got a Recording Custom 6.5x14 and it quickly became my favorite. I love the dryness, the articulation, and the overtones, such as they are. With the die-cast hoops it comes with, rim clicks are fabulous. What a great drum!
  2. E

Birch drums. Why?

On YouTube at least, the birch drums always sound awesome to me. I'm thinking mainly of Sonor and Yamaha RC's. I love the shorter sustain, and crisp responsiveness. I have a DW Collector's Maple kit at home, and over the years I've gone from single ply to EC2 heads, in an effort to get more...
  3. E

Got a nice compliment at a gig last week

I am a rock drummer at heart, but I play in a classic blues trio as a way to get more playing experience and to expand my musical repertoire. We had a gig last weekend and after the show someone came up to me and said I am "the shuffle king"! Now, I'm not worthy to take that title away from...
  4. E

Is it OK to store drums in the garage?

I've recently sized up my drum collection and storage in the house is becoming a bit of a problem. I wonder if it's OK to store drums in the garage, in hard cases? I live in the southwest, so moisture is never a problem, but it does get hot in there during the summer, possibly up to 110F or so...
  5. E

Question for those of you who have gone through The New Breed

I got this book about 3 weeks ago, and so far I am really enjoying the exercises. If I understand the book correctly, you should stick with one system until you can get through all the melody charts with that system, and then move on to the next system and start with the first melody page...
  6. E

Help me choose my next ride cymbal