Recent content by EricT43

1. E

Location of tom seems to affect the sound

This might sound strange, but I want to see if anyone else experienced this. I've been experimenting with different setups with my Sonor SQ1 kit. For a while I was using 10 and 12 rack toms over the bass drum. Now I keep the 12 nearly above the center of the kick, and the 10 to the left, that...
  2. E

How much do you have to worry about volume?

I always concern myself with volume, not only of my kit in relation to the other instruments, but of the parts of my kit to one another, making sure I have a good mix between the cymbals, kick, snare, and toms. In the bands I've played in, the guitarist is usually the one that's too loud. I...
  3. E

Ever regret buying a drumset?

Not so far! I feel like I'm still learning what I like and don't like about various woods and drum sizes, so every kit I get adds to my experience. I'm still not sure what my "dream kit" is, but I'm getting closer to figuring it out. Maybe the enlightenment I will discover is that there is no...
  4. E

Got my new Sonor SQ1's today....Meh..

I bought an SQ1 kit earlier this year, 22/12/16 with 10 and 14 tom add-ons as well as the snare. The bearing edges all seemed great to me, but I did experience some of the bass drum lugs being very tight and difficult to turn. A minor disappointment with an otherwise very nice set of drums. I...
  5. E

Which headphones do you use to practice?

An alternate take - I've gone through three pairs of VF headphones. I am 6'3", I'm not a giant but larger than an average human. The band connecting the cans is too small for my head and broke on me several times as I continually struggle to get them to sit on my ears. So, if you're a large...
  6. E

Ludwig Legacy Mahogany

Great score, he got an amazing set of drums!
  7. E

Tuning intervals for brighter sounding toms?