Recent content by bud7h4

1. bud7h4

Tribute band

Same here. I do like really good tribute bands, but I wouldn't want to be one. I won't do the opposite extreme either, which is play in a cover band that does a wide variety of music. Now those I neither enjoy nor want to be in. Just personal preference.
  2. bud7h4

Bright vs. Dark cymbals

I like both/either as long as there's a certain degree of dryness to them.
  3. bud7h4

How many of you are self-taught?

Self taught; drums, guitar, sex. It's different today than it was before the info age. I inevitably had to unlearn lots of bad habits, poor technique. On drums and guitar also.
  4. bud7h4

Can't take PDP seriously somehow

My concept maple kit was shipped to me with the DW reso head. I'm tempted to add a smaller custom made sticker that says by PDP.
  5. bud7h4

I’ve gone and done it. No more suspended floor toms!

You're right on both counts. Originally it was Viva la Floor Tom Legs! , and changed to Death to Hanging Floor Toms! in 2020.
  6. bud7h4

Tama has heard our feedback and toned it down with this new finish

<----- I was thrilled to find a Flat steel blue finish last year. I don't know what they're thinking with the nutty finishes at Tama; they're like a weird combination of 60s psychedelic and 80s glam. Talk about supreme confidence in your product's sound and quality.
  7. bud7h4

Technique on the pad for analysis.

If you had bad posture, that would be the only thing I can imagine causing problems in the long run. Is it possible practicing is causing elbow pain initially caused by something else? I'm not sure what we're looking for here, but as far as technique the only thing that stands out to me is maybe...
  8. bud7h4

Moeller technique do you really need to master it?

I always thought the exaggerated motion was meant to ensure your foundation for the technique is solid, and would therefore translate to doing the more practical motion properly at any speed.
  9. bud7h4